Vasco coach eyes Nedbank Cup win

Tony de Nobrega Vasco Da Gama coach Tony De Nobrega is prepared to put aside the NFD challenge and   focus on advancing past the Last 16 stage of the Nedbank Cup when they take on Maluti FET College on Saturday at Phillipi Stadium. Kick-off is at 3pm.

Vasco claimed their place in the Last 16 of this year’s Nedbank Cup thanks to a hard-fought 3-2 away win over Bellevue Winners Park at Giyani Stadium, with coach Tony De Nobrega’s men having to pull out all the stops for a win in Limpopo.

De Nobrega believes that they need to go to this match with a wining mentality as cup matches are always different from the league matches.

“It is a different ball game all in all. Although we have not been having a good run in the league, it will be good to do well in the cup,” he said.

This all-NFD clash sees two teams who have not enjoyed great seasons on the league front looking to reach the latter stages of South Africa’s most prestigious cup competition.

As for Maluti, they won a Free State derby against Africans Warriors, winning 2-1 at the Charles Mopeli Stadium to move through to the last 16.

The University-based side is looking to make more waves in the competition, having recorded arguably the greatest upset in South African cup history when they beat Orlando Pirates 4-1 in the 2013 Nedbank Cup.

With a new coach in charge of the FET side, things have not been easy but the man in charge Jonny Mafareka is confident that his side will do well as time goes by.

“We do have the quality players needed but it is just a matter of time before they connect and get to understand my game plan. There is always going to be the Orlando Pirates tag but it important that we focus on the present,” he said.

Vasco and Maluti have met twice in the National First Division this season and it is the Cape side which has come out on top on both occasions, winning 1-0 in the Free State and 2-0 in the return game in the Mother City.

Mafareka said confidence will be key in this game as well as making use of the opportunities that they get.

“The confidence from our boys will be crucial as well as making good use of the opportunities that we will be creating. Our opponents will be hoping for a win as well so we will have to be focused throughout the match,” he said.

Vasco come into the match having played to a 1-1 draw with local rivals Milano United last weekend, while Maluti held Black Leopards to a 1-1 draw. The Free State side has won just one league match since the turn of the year.


Next Match



Latest Results



Hit CounterHit Counters